Chancellor’s Public Safety Advisory Council

The Chancellor’s Public Safety Advisory Council was created to give the University of Pittsburgh, its leadership and all of the constituent groups that make up the Pitt community the best information available about issues, concerns, problems and initiatives in public safety. The members of the Council come from all of parts of the University—undergraduate and graduate students, faculty and staff—as well as the Pittsburgh community. Issues the Council is charged with examining include:

  • Understanding the types of activities performed by the police force and the procedures used to govern that activity;
  • Reviewing policies and procedures used by the University of Pittsburgh Police Department;
  • Reviewing the relevant policies and procedures used by University units that may impact effective policing;
  • Examining and understanding the community’s perspective on issues of public safety;
  • Examining national issues that arise related to public safety and determining potential impacts on the University;
  • Researching and discussing best practices for conducting police activity on campus; and
  • Making recommendations to the chancellor regarding University action.


  • Ted Patrick Fritz, Council Chair and Vice Chancellor of Public Safety and Emergency Management, Office of Public Safety and Emergency Management
  • Larissa Allen, Graduate Student Representative, Graduate and Professional Student Government
  • Sheila Cunningham, Graduate Student Representative
  • Richard Garland, Assistant Professor, Behavioral and Community Health Sciences, Graduate School of Public Health
  • Veella Grooms, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Equity and Inclusion
  • Paul T. Harper, Clinical Assistant Professor, Business Administration, Katz Graduate School of Business
  • James K. Loftus, Chief of Police, University of Pittsburgh Police Department
  • Holly Lamb, Deputy Chief of Police, University of Pittsburgh Police Department
  • Tristan Lucchetti, Staff Council Representative, Assistant Director for Administrative Operations, Health Sciences Library System
  • Ian Neumaier, Undergraduate Student Representative
  • Riley Patrick, Undergraduate Student Representative, Student-Athlete Advisory Committee
  • Joshua Rodriguez, Undergraduate Student Representative
  • Cheryl Ruffin, Institutional Equity Manager, Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Kevin J. Washo Jr., Senior Vice Chancellor for University Relations and Chief of Staff
  • James Nathan Williams, III, Director of Local Governmental Relations, Office of Community and Governmental Relations
  • Celeste Young, Undergraduate Student Representative, Black Action Society
  • Ryan Young, Undergraduate Student Representative


Click here to contact the Chancellor’s Public Safety Advisory Council.